Skip navigation

[I’ve updated my little “What I do” post up top and since it’s not obvious to click on it and reread, since you may have already read it once, here’s the text…]

There’s more to life than design. I guess. If you say so.

I am irreverent but passionate about all things. I hate writing these because they are either too long, or you sound like you’re writing a personal ad for the back of the weekly. And while I am a man, and seeking certain things and people; it’s not like that, so get your filthy imagination off of me.

I take bad pictures with the same immediacy that I write bad prose, and you can find those here. The pictures and prose are in search of the same things.

I work for a really high-end residential firm on the West Side of Los Angeles, and it’s an education every day. But what I really want to do is act. Actually not. What I am in the process of doing is applying to graduate schools. This is so I can go explore more of the world and its people and learn more advanced techniques and tools. My goal is to expand my understanding of the human condition, of building and what it means to build, and ultimately, seek out the greatest of which I and we are capable, shine light upon it, and use it to help our common cause.

It’s all very idealistic – and purposefully so. At 28 years old, I am not too old to be idealistic, but I find that I am more so than my peers. I cling to idealism in spite of massive evidence to the contrary, knowing full well that it’s not how the world works. Maybe by doing this, by the time I have enabled myself with the tools necessary to enact the change I am seeking, there will be more humanity and high minded (if a bit naive) idealism left in me to shape my actions in a positive fashion.

If you think I’m an idiot, respond and say so. If you take issue with or agree with something I say, respond and say so. I am here to learn and maybe teach, not necessarily to be right. The only thing that makes our species somewhat special is our ability to communicate, and if I can get myself and others to do so, I will have begun to enact that change I am seeking.

Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

