Skip navigation

One of the reasons that people drink is to feel free of societal constraint and have the courage to do things they wouldn’t do sober. Not necessarily self-destructive or dangerous, but often so. Acting out these usually antisocial desires while drunk is accompanied by guilt.  The power structure likes this, because it allows people to ascribe their “misdeeds” not to their subconscious desires, but rather to alcohol. It creates a nation of divided psyches, producing a populace that is constantly confused and self-shaming.

Here’s the part menacing to the hegemony. If we can get people to start doing the stuff that they drink to free themselves to do, but while sober, then we are a revolutionary force. If we can get people to find the the guts to stand up and say, “I used to have to get high (drunk, etc) to flirt at a bar, tell my friends I love them, and have casual sex. Now, I’m giving myself license to do these things while in control of myself. I will be filled with life, as if drunk.”

The power structure has always been afraid of a populace that will soberly look them in the eye and say, “Yes, I meant to break your law. Because I don’t care, and now that you cannot shame me, you hold no power over me.”

Sobriety can be an act of civil disobedience.

Leave a Reply

