Skip navigation

Get your mind out of the gutter.

I saw John Darnielle of the Mountain Goats read from the book about the Black Sabbath album  Masters of Reality on Saturday night at Skylight Books in Los Feliz. It was pretty awesome, I’m excited to read it, and it was cool to get my copy signed by him.

But we were both there after everyone else left, I was buying a new book – to read on my lonely nights. And he? He was behind me in line buying books too. Here’s where it gets funny. With purchases in his hands, I ask if I can take a picture of him with the books he’s about to buy.

He says it’s cool if I want a picture of or with him – but no – I can’t have a picture of him with his books. He doesn’t like to have to talk about or explain that stuff. Which is understandable, people bug him about so many things all the time anyway, it would be just another thing for the fanboys to obsess over.
So I said that’s okay, thanks anyway – I just thought the concept of you with the source material was a good one.
John Darnielle with his shopping list is a funny idea. He smiled and we both moved on.

Leave a Reply

