Skip navigation

This man was a tremendous inspiration to me.

He spoke at USC’s commencement in 2002 – when all of my non-architecture peers graduated. He spoke about getting fired from his first job – about failing early in life while there’s still time. He spoke about learning from this, and not fearing it.

Until this morning, when I was thinking about him and that speech, I didn’t connect the dots that later that DAY I failed my studio class, and that I was living his lesson even as he was teaching it.

I’ve got a lot more to say about how amazing his journalism was; but I’ll leave that to those who can do it better.

I’ve never heard of a dried-out old ceremony having any impact on your life.
Thank you, David Halberstam for making the one speech, my one personal connection to you, actually mean something.

Leave a Reply

