Skip navigation

Have to start by qualifying that I appreciate this song quite a bit… But follow me here… Here’s a quote from the Elvis Costello version of Nick Lowe’s song.

I ask myself
Is all hope lost?
Is there only pain and hatred, and misery?

And each time I feel like this inside,
There’s one thing I wanna know:
What’s so funny ’bout peace love & understanding? Ohhhh
What’s so funny ’bout peace love & understanding?

I’ve been kicking this idea around for a while, but am I the only Elvis Costello fan in the world who finds amusement in the thought that this song is a cynical enjoyment of the hilarity of the ideas of peace, love, and understanding? As opposed to being a plea for them…

Leave a Reply

