Skip navigation

I thought I was done for the night, but one thing led to another, and thus I have two things to say…

1. there were two crickets outside my apartment building chirping at ever-so-slightly different tempos, so the sound of this beautiful cacophony, with every 20th or so beat lining up, and the rest being freefall kept me up for a few minutes, so I decided to do a little reading.

2. for reasons too many to go into here, I recommend everyone, even those not into the music, read the Michael Azerrad book “Our Band Could Be Your Life.” It’s a story of the absolutely most seminal indie bands of the 80’s, replacements, black flag, minor threat, mission of burma, husker du, sonic youth, et al.

I didn’t think it would be like this at all, but if I had to use one word to describe it, that word would be inspirational. the stories of the perseverance, courage, intelligence, and humanity of all these bands is a reason to want to be a better person.

ok, hope these words greet you in good spirits when you wake up, and now I am really going to bed to let the sound of psychotic crickets outside warp my alpha waves.

Leave a Reply

